City Plan Board


  • 4:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Tuesday of each month
  • City Hall
    101 W 3rd Street
    Dayton, OH 45402

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Board consists of seven members plus the City Manager or Director of Planning and Community Development as a non-voting member. All members must be city residents and are appointed by the City Commission for three-year, staggered terms.


The City Plan Board, established by the City Charter, is the City of Dayton's planning commission as described in the Ohio Revised Code and performs such duties and functions with respect to comprehensive planning (transportation, land use, public facilities, parks and open space, etc.), zoning, platting, design review and other duties as provided by state law or by city ordinance.

Major Powers & Duties

  • Adopts strategies, plans and programs, holds public hearings and makes recommendations to the City Commission on zoning map and text amendments.
  • Approves subdivisions; establishes City conditions for the vacation of public streets and alleys; reviews projects for consistency with adopted plans.
  • Is responsible for the City's comprehensive plan (CitiPlan Dayton: The 20/20 Vision (PDF)); reviews modifications to the thoroughfare and circulation system; recommends urban design standards to the City Commission.
  • Reviews plans requiring the eminent domain or urban renewal powers of the City.