Photo Enforcement Program

The goal of the photo enforcement program is to reduce crashes, fatalities and protect our residents and visitors from aggressive and dangerous drivers.


The Police Department utilizes mobile speed trailer units at various locations in the city.  Here are the current locations of those trailers:  

  • 3400 block of Hoover Avenue
  • 1632 Salem Avenue
  • U.S. 35 @ Abbey Avenue
  • 900 block of Wilmington Avenue
  • 1900 & 2000 blocks of West Third Street
  • 2200 block of South Smithville Road
  • Smithville & Linden
  • 2700 block of Germantown Street
  • 1000 block of West Hillcrest Avenue
  • 1300 block of Huffman Avenue
  • 1401 Leo Street
  • 1399 Wayne Avenue


Dayton Police Officers can also utilize hand held speed monitoring camera units to respond to areas where speed is a safety issue or where we have received citizen complaints about dangerous driving.


If you received a photo enforcement notice in the mail regarding a speed violation, payment is made through the Dayton Municipal Court. If you have questions regarding the notice, please contact the Dayton Municipal Court at 937-333-4302. For your convenience we have several options to make your payment.

  1. Payments may be made Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm at the Dayton Municipal Court Central Payments Division, 301 W. Third Street, Dayton, Ohio 45402 on the 1st floor.
  2. Payments can be made online at
  3. A check or money order made payable to the City of Dayton may be mailed to Dayton Municipal Court- Central Payments Division, 301 W. Third Street P.O. BOX 10700 Dayton, Ohio 45402.
  4. Payments may be made Monday – Friday 4:30 pm – 8:00 am  & Saturday, Sunday, and Holidays at the Montgomery County Jail Bond Clerk,  330 West Second Street, Dayton, Ohio 45402.